Elizabeth Edwards has cancer…campaign may be suspended

Ben Smith is reporting in his blog from Politico.com that John Edwards may suspend his presidential campaign in order to be his wife, Elizabeth, who is once again suffering from cancer.

CNN’s Candy Crowely is reporting the Edwards camp is pushing back on this story so it may, or parts of it may, not be true. No word yet on which parts. 

Ben Smith has updated his blog with GETTING IT WRONG:

A single, confident source close to John Edwards told me this morning that Edwards was “suspending his campaign,” and I posted it to the blog at 11:06 this morning.

My source, and I, were wrong.

The source, whose anonymity I agreed to respect, spoke of the kind of grim prognosis Elizabeth Edwards herself just described hearing before a second round of tests came back. I trusted the source, somebody I’ve known for several years, and who has always been reliable.

And with less than an hour before Edwards was to announce, I unwisely wrote the item without getting a second source.

When the campaign pushed back harder than I’d expected, I added that information to the original item, but that doesn’t undo the damage.

My apologies to our readers for passing on bad information.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

