John McCains website hacked…hacker claims no laws were broken.

Warning to myspace users: don’t use Mike Davidson’s myspace template without giving him proper credit. This, among other things,  is what Davidson claims John McCain’s internet team  was doing. From his website.

You see, John McCain’s people commandeered my world-renowned MySpace design template and did a few things wrong:

  1. They did not credit me for the template, even though the template explicitly requested credit.
  2. They used my own unmodified imagery, specifically for the “Contacting John McCain” table.
  3. As if #2 wasn’t bad enough, the McCain crew is actually pulling their image directly from my server on each page load. So every time someone visits the McCain MySpace page, my bandwidth is being used to deliver part of the page! Bad McCain!

So in order to teach John McCain a lesson, Davidson decided to punish play a prank on him by reversing his position on gay marriage. Underneath a photo of the presidential candidate, Davidson wrote “Dear supporters, Today I announce that I have reversed my position on gay marriage…particularly between passionate females.”

Is this legal?

So, the only thing necessary to effectively commandeer McCain’s page with my own messaging was to simply replace my own sample image on my server with a newly created sample on my server. No server but my own was touched and no laws were broken. The immaculate hack.

We’ll see.

Read about it straight from the hacker, Mike Davidson.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

